Gabriela “Gabby” Franco

  • Author, speaker, competitive shooter, and instructor
  • first female shooter to represent Venezuela in the Olympics
  • 2001 – 9TH Place – World Cup – Atlanta, GA USA
  • 2002 – 3 Gold Medals – South American Games – Brazil
  • 2012 – Top Shot (season 4) on the History Channel
  • 2013 – Author 1st Book –  Troubleshooting: Mastering Your Pistol Marksmanship
  • 2013 – 2016 NRA New
  • 2014 – 2016 Host of NRA Show Tips & Tactics
  • 2014 – 2017 – Shooter for Remington Outdoors


Paralympic Shooting

founded 1976

  • 1976 Paralympic Shooting made debut at the 1st Paralympic Games
  • 1976, only 3 shooting events
  • 2020 = nine rifle & four pistol events
    both airguns and .22 caliber
  • 8 of 13 events are mixed gender
  • open to male and female athletes with physical disabilities
  •  governed by International Paralympic Committee (IPC)
  • 2019 Shooting was added to the program at the Para Pan American Championships (Lima, Peru)

United States Paralympic Shooting Team

  • has won 5 Paralympic medals
    1 gold
    1 silver
    3 bronze

USA Shooting
1 Olympic Plaza
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
(719) 866-4670

Pat Spurgin

first markswoman in history to win Olympic Gold medal

  • Born in Billings, Montana
  • now living in Fairbanks, Alaska
  • competed and won a gold medal in the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles
  • the first Olympic Champion in Air Rifle for Women
    while a student at Murray State University, Kentucky
  • Pat Spurgin Rifle Range in Murray, Kentucky is named after her
  • 2014  torchbearer for the Sochi 2014 Olympic Torch Relay
  • 2014 appointed as director of the Alaskan Office of Management and Budget

Margaret Thompson Murdock

First markswoman in history to win an Olympic medal
(men and women competed against her)

August 25, 1942

  • She learned how to shoot by following her father to the rifle range
  • Attended Kansas State University
  • competed on the Kansas State University men’s rifle team
    – winning two Big Eight Conference championships
    – the university’s first female student to earn a varsity letter
  • four-years in the U.S. Army,  assigned as a shooting instructor at Fort Benning, achieved the rank of major
  • 1966 World Champion in Women’s Standard Rifle
  • first woman to win an individual open World Shooting Championship
  • 1967 she won two gold medals in small-bore rifle at the Pan American Games and set a world record, for men or women, in the kneeling rifle shooting
  • 1976 first woman ever on the U.S. Olympic shooting team
  • 1976 silver medal at the 1976 Summer Olympics
  • first woman to win a medal in Shooting at the Summer Olympics
  • 1977 retired from competitive shooting at age 35 and become a registered nurse
  • 1992 named to the U.S. International Shooting Hall of Fame
  • In international competition Murdock set four individual world records and nine team world records
  • She is a member of five halls of fame, including
    USA Shooting Hall of Fame and Kansas Sports Hall of Fame

My first year at K-State, I couldn’t shoot on the team because I was a female. I could practice with the K-State team but I couldn’t be on the team. They got a new coach and he thought it would be a good idea for me to be on the team since I was shooting better than everyone else. ”
— Murdock, reminiscing in 2011


International Shooting Sport Federation is the governing body of the Olympic Shooting events in rifle, pistol and shotgun disciplines, and of several non-Olympic Shooting sport events

Founded: 1907

International Shooting Sport Federation is the international federation controlling Olympic-type shooting in the world. The ISSF was known as the International Shooting Union (UIT) from 1907 until 1998. They sanction the World Shooting Championships every four years, the Separate World Championships in Trap and Skeet every two years and the ISSF World Cups and ISSF World Cup Finals every year. Their rules are used in Continental Games like the Pan American Games and Continental Championships like the European Shooting Championships or the Championships of the America.