USA Shooting

Amateur Sports Act of 1978

1978 – the National Governing Body for shooting at the time established National Teams and National Development Teams, a national coaching staff, year-round training programs, and a main training site for Olympic shooting sports.

  • April 1995, USA Shooting was formed
  • 1995 USA Shooting became the full-time National Governing Body for the international shooting sports in the United States

National Governing Body for Olympic-type shooting in the USA including international rifle, international pistol, international shotgun and running target. They host the USA Shooting National Championships, the National Junior Olympic Shooting Championships, U.S. Shooting Team Trials and Preliminary Tryouts


NRA’s International Competitions Committee (ICC)
– Founded in 1978
– pursue and govern the interests of Olympic-style shooters
– has oversight of all Olympic shooting events worldwide

National Governing Body for many non-Olympic types of shooting in the USA including NRA Conventional (3-gun) Pistol, NRA Smallbore Rifle, NRA High Power Rifle, NRA Action Pistol, NRA Silhouette (rifle and pistol), plus many more. They also have an excellent new coach program.

Paralympic Shooting

founded 1976

  • 1976 Paralympic Shooting made debut at the 1st Paralympic Games
  • 1976, only 3 shooting events
  • 2020 = nine rifle & four pistol events
    both airguns and .22 caliber
  • 8 of 13 events are mixed gender
  • open to male and female athletes with physical disabilities
  •  governed by International Paralympic Committee (IPC)
  • 2019 Shooting was added to the program at the Para Pan American Championships (Lima, Peru)

United States Paralympic Shooting Team

  • has won 5 Paralympic medals
    1 gold
    1 silver
    3 bronze

USA Shooting
1 Olympic Plaza
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
(719) 866-4670


International Shooting Sport Federation is the governing body of the Olympic Shooting events in rifle, pistol and shotgun disciplines, and of several non-Olympic Shooting sport events

Founded: 1907

International Shooting Sport Federation is the international federation controlling Olympic-type shooting in the world. The ISSF was known as the International Shooting Union (UIT) from 1907 until 1998. They sanction the World Shooting Championships every four years, the Separate World Championships in Trap and Skeet every two years and the ISSF World Cups and ISSF World Cup Finals every year. Their rules are used in Continental Games like the Pan American Games and Continental Championships like the European Shooting Championships or the Championships of the America.